Running in the rain

October 1, 2008 at 5:00 am 2 comments

Got up quite early this morning for my planned long run from our house in Pasig to Makati CBD to pick up some papers somewhere in Legaspi and Greenbelt.  But the light drizzle gave me second thoughts on whether I’ll just bring the car up to BHS or proceed as planned, but then, my mind was already set the night before.  Since it’s my first time to do this, I have no plans going back on foot but the wife will pick me up in BHS as soon as I get back. 

As I started walking to the main gate, at 5:20 am, the rains started pouring slightly and after greeting the guard,  I was off at 5:30 am onto Ortigas Ave and got my first uphill climb on Rosario Floodway.  I noticed 4 or 5 runners so I felt I was not alone & crazy enough in running under the rain.  As i breezed thru C-5, I planned to take the C-5 bridge but as soon as I entered the railing going up, a truck suddenly zoomed beside me making me decide immediately to just take the main road which has sidewalks pa.  I reached BHS in 1 hour and made my way to Mckinley going to Ayala where I met 2 runners (I’m sure they’re bloggers but can’t recall their names) one of whom greeted me with a wave.  Upon reaching Ayala, I remembered Prom Cometh in his post that he didn’t use the overpass but instead just crossed Edsa when he went to MOA which I also did (just for the experience) with buses and taxis zooming nearby.  I thought there was an ongoing Octoberfest party at the corner of Ayala and Paseo with the sound system blaring boogie and chacha music but was surprised that It was the “Walk for Life” of the NCR Senior Citizens from different cities but the poor lolo’s and lola’s were walking under the rain (with umbrellas of course). After getting some papers in Legaspi, I made my way back via Greenbelt and Makati Shang but now I decided to use the overpass for safety reasons, I called the wife while under the roof to meet me at ROX since I was already feeling something in my legs (2:00 hrs already) and the thought of a good breakfast spurred me to increase my pace along Mckinley, I reached BHS in 2:28 which is around 21K for me (Garmin hasn’t arrived yet)  with the wife bringing fresh clothes, 2 bananas, hot pandesal and Gatorade.   Grabe sarap!

I’ll be writing my experience with my Adidas Supernova Sequence in my next post.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Seriously now… Running in Nice, Paris, & Amsterdam

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Salabadyok  |  October 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Hi Chit,

    It’s always fun to run while it’s raining, fortunately no one mistook you as one of the senior citizen, hehehe

    let me see your garmin once you have it.

    keep on running

    Reply
  • 2. sundaywarrior  |  October 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Hi Dan thanks for dropping by, yes, i had the road all by myself as it was a holiday but got d additional energy from the rains actually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



