Running in Nice, Paris, & Amsterdam

November 6, 2008 at 3:52 pm 5 comments

Just got back from a ten day business tour and as planned (but not exactly implemented), I’m supposed to have 2 runs in Nice, France where the weather is quite good, 16-18C but just managed to have a 12K due to fatigue caused by too much walking during the day.  After visiting Lourdes for our pilgrimage, the wife and I headed towards Paris where, promise, I really tried but as shown on the picture, it was 7C that morning, I was freezing when she took my picture so I decided to go back after 5 mins. But when we were heading back to the hotel, a runner suddenly passed by wearing a dri-fit shirt and shorts, pero kayang kaya.

In Amsterdam, our last day was quite good as it was 11C but managed to run for 10 mins only as I was not able to buy any jogging pants in Paris, I tried looking at the Adidas store in Champs Elysees but the price is ridiculous, Euro 120 equivalent to almost 8K!  Wow.  Anyway, even my wife was shaking from the wintry weather which as the locals say is not a good time to visit so I decided to make up upon arriving last Monday. I managed to sneak a 10K with my colleague from Davao last Wednesday at  ULTRA before our seminar at Crowne Plaza.

Bad move since for the last 2 days, my eyes were so heavy probably due to jet lag and lack of sleep as I was juggling my time between work (meetings, meetings, and meetings), my Ateneo MBA class at Rockwell, and a 3 day seminar by the company. This does not include our weekly Marriage Encounter prayer meetings at Fort Bonifacio, Whew!

Just hoping I can still catch up with my mileage in time for the Standard chartered Marathon in December, what a week…

00 am (still dark)

The view of Promenade des Anglais at Nice before my run at 7:00 am (still dark)My hotel is about 15 steps from their local baywalk

Last 200 meters after 1 hour

Last 200 meters after 1 hour
In Amsterdam where it was 11C, my wife was shaking from the cold while taking this pic

In Amsterdam where it was 11C, my wife was shaking from the cold while taking this pic back after 10 mins

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Running in the rain More pics in France

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. loonyrunner  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:55 am

    welcome back to the Philippines! nice pics!

    Reply
  • 2. sundaywarrior  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Hi Doc Joe yes it’s good to be back coz it’s now officially wintertime in France, ang hirap tumakbo. Thanks for the visit though..

    Reply
  • 3. bards  |  November 9, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    8K for jogging pants haha sobrang brave soul mo for even daring to go out for a run kahit 10mins lang brrr

    Reply
  • 4. sundaywarrior  |  November 10, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Hi BR, well I just tried coz I saw some group running that morning, but talagang I was not ready in terms of running gear regrds, we missed you yesterday ha

    Reply
  • 5. Salabadyok  |  November 20, 2008 at 9:59 am

    hi cht, mala edward cullen legs mo namumutla sa lamig hehehe
    see you sunday sa unicef.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



