Singapore Conquered!

December 9, 2008 at 11:18 am 20 comments

Finally, after a short 4 months training, I was able to finish my first marathon with an official time of 5:45.01 (my Garmin clocked in at 5:36).  Now I know how it feels and it’s great to follow lots of tips (especially from BR) which I experienced personally before and after the race. Initially my goal time was 5:30 (that was what I submitted) as I know the training would be short, I just tell friends that I’ll try my best to cross the line before 6hours.  But deep in my mind, doing 5:oo or lower would be a big bonus for me but since I’m not breaking any PR here, I just ran my pace and made sure that I finish the race with aplomb. Here’s some snippets on my run:

Woke up at 3:00 am and ate 1 Granola bar, 1 Powerbar chocolate, 1 boiled egg and 1 banana which I brought from Manila on Friday. At 5:00 am, me and R started our trek to the starting line eventually linking up with hundreds of runners walking to the starting line. 

While at the pen, I was actually savoring the excitement in the air and thinking hard if  I’m doing the right thing but when the DJ said that finishing the race is not the “Miracle” but the Miracle is actually why we started the race at all.

I got my inspiration from this and suddenly we were off, at Km 11-12, I stopped at the heating station and smothered my legs with Mentholatum as I was already feeling the heat.  At the turn-around, I finally saw Bards and Monica (my officemate) as we were closely bunched together.  When I tried stetching somewhere at Km 22-23, I suddenly felt cramps behind my right leg which made me pray aloud as I was only halfway so I started to walk and try to feel the leg.  Fortunately, the walk-run sequence neutralized the cramps and I was back in the race.

At Km 30-31, I started my mantra by repeating ” I did not go to Singapore to quit” since I was already feeling the heat and my feet was actually the one bothering me.  I stopped and tightened the shoelaces and this worked since It somewhat lessened the pain .

The last 2 kms gave me an added boost just thinking of finishing the race and suddenly after turning right at Andrews St, I can see the signs like last 150 meters, then 75 then the finish line itself where I belted out the loudest shout of joy and victory.  While getting the medal and shirt, I really felt a lot of things going on inside me, I felt dizzy and want to throw up, then my legs were buckling as I exited the pen, where the wife gave me a big kiss!  I went to the massage area where I had my 10 mins massage as I felt I couldn’t walk anymore, I tried telling R that we just take a cab going back to the hotel and just order lunch for me, but my sis-in-law told me the roads are still closed so, I have to use the wife as my crutch going to the hotel but not before taking our lunch first at Raffles Place . After that hearty lunch,  I immediately took a shower and guess what, I went out of the room (and the bed) the following day already as I just concentrated on rehydrating myself, and my muscles were really sore at this point, but the thought of actually finishing the race was so overwhelming that I managed to sleep for short periods only. 

Oh well, it’s back to work for me but I will always treasure the feeling of finishing my very first marathon!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sleepless in Singapore Memorable Year for Running

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. myironshoes  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Congratulations Chito! You are definitely a warrior! Pain and all, it’s a great feeling to finish, isn’t it?And we didn’t crawl! 🙂 So, when’s the next one?

    Reply
  • 2. prometheuscometh  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Congrats Chito! That was one great run! Now on to to breaking 5??? He he he See you soon!

    Reply
    • 3. sundaywarrior  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:49 pm

      Hi Jay, your dedication in your training is one of our inspiration in running the full, yes, I’m surely looking at breaking 5 next time.ha ha

      Hey there MESH -Idol! A great finish for a first timer at 4:44? I’m sure you’ll be aiming for sub4 in your next marathon yeees!

      Reply
  • 4. bards  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    congratulations Chito! saan next marathon natin 😛

    Reply
    • 5. sundaywarrior  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:39 pm

      Ei Bards congrats to you too! I’m thinking of another one in May or June? You did great there..

      Reply
  • 6. sfrunner  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Congratulations Chito! You did well. This one, they can’t take away from you. Take care!

    Reply
  • 7. sundaywarrior  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Thanks Wayne, I’m still savoring the pain in my legs but looking forward to improvements next year Regards..

    Reply
  • 8. DATC  |  December 10, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Congratulations Chito! Lalo akong ginaganahan mag-marathon pag basa ko ng recap mo.

    Reply
  • 9. sundaywarrior  |  December 10, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Thanks Dindo, I’m sure with your training you can surely aim for sub 5 agad see you in the next race..

    Reply
  • 10. loonyrunner  |  December 11, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    congratulations! mas masarap ang pakirampdam pag mas pinaghihirapan ano? hehehe

    Reply
  • 11. sundaywarrior  |  December 12, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Yes thanks Doc, I’ll post more sidebar on the SG marathon with feelings na talaga ha ha

    Reply
  • 12. Wayne  |  December 31, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Chito, Happy New Year in 2009!

    Reply
  • 13. ibetlacbay  |  January 18, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    nice meeting you this morning!

    Reply
  • 14. Gene  |  January 22, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Hi Sundaywarrior, thanks for dropping by on my blog, so did you run on the PSE Bull run? Btw, is this blog on stealth? Your blog is definitely not the easiest to find 🙂

    Hey, you might have overdone customization of your css file. Actually, I didn’t you know that could muck around with it in WordPress,

    Reply
  • 15. Wayne  |  January 29, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Hi Chito. Checking in to say hello. Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. Take care and have a good weekend ahead!

    Reply
  • 16. Wayne  |  February 12, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Chito, we got to get you writing again. I appreciate the comments from you on my blog however. Take care and have a good day!

    Reply
  • 17. witchkitty  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:44 am

    oh wow, I didn’t know you had a blog! ill bookmark you 🙂 and wakey wakey update us with your recent runs! h@ppy running!

    Reply
  • 18. sundaywarrior  |  February 25, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Oh hi there thanks for the visit, I thought you already know. Anyway, I haven’t been updating my blog but will do some posts by next week, hope to run with you in Sydney!

    Reply
  • 19. doralicious  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Hi Chito! Finally I found your blog! For some reason di ko ma-search search! 🙂

    Twas nice running with you sa Runew. Thanks for pacing me for a few kms … kundi, babagal pako dapat! hahaha…

    Hope to see you soon in future races!!!

    Doray

    Reply
  • 20. sundaywarrior  |  March 3, 2009 at 6:36 am

    It’s my pleasure Doc and congrats on your podium finishes, parang regular habit na yan, thanks for visiting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



