Memorable Year for Running

September 20, 2009 at 4:15 am 3 comments

I’m not much of a techie so posting blogs and uploading pictures has always been a struggle but since it’s the start of the year, I’ll try to remember some of the memorable runs I have made.   The reason why I sticked to running is because I always believed that it’s the cheapest sport to take up since all you need is a good running shoes and you’re off.  After probably 10 years of running only on Sunday mornings in UP and joining some races like Runnex, Yakult, and Adidas, that was it, I didn’t really bother on things like mileage, running gears and the like so it was last year when I finally started making a “career” on running. (Meaning I started spending on gears I have never even thought of before)

Last year was a year of firsts for me, for the past 10 years, my longest run has always been the Yakult 10miler and I was smoking like hell the following week followed by bouts of drinking every Friday or Saturday so  nursing a hangover during 10K runs is normal for me.  I just maintain my time of 60 -62 mins every run and I’m okay, but after reading some of the blogs last year, I suddenly realized that I’m really missing a lot!

For one,  joining the Standard chartered marathon became my inspiration to stop smoking last Sept. 2, 2008 as I know I won’t be able to finish with this habit.  I normally run during my local trips as my running gear is considered  standard bag content but running abroad even on practice runs is a treat.  I’ve tried running already in France, Amsterdam, Lithuania, and lately Italy and Madrid and it was an exhilirating experience to say the least.  Last May 1, I also joined the American River Parkway Half Marathon in Sacramento, CA but bonked out due to the cold weather (it was raining the whole time and that gave me cramps on both legs).  I had my 2nd Botak 42 last May, 5 days after arriving from Florida and SFO where I had my 10k runs of course but with disastrous result although I improved my time by around 15 minutes compared to SCM 42.

Anyway with my roller coaster training for the QCIM 42, I just hope to break the 5hour barrier as work keeps getting in the way.  During my last trip, I managed to sneak in 10k’s in Florence and Venice, Italy and another in Madrid, Spain last Sept. 4, 2009.

Oh well…

Running in Tagaytay Highlands

Running in Tagaytay Highlands

Nike Paris

Nike Paris

In Corona, CA

In Corona, CA

Hyatt hotel lobby after 10k in Sarasota Florida

Hyatt hotel lobby after 10k in Sarasota Florida

DSC00437

In Rotorua and Auckland NZ

Honolulu Hawaii

Honolulu Hawaii

In Istanbul, Turkey

In Istanbul, Turkey

Misibis Bay, Albay

Misibis Bay, Albay

Batanes

Batanes

Standard Chartered 42 with the wife

Standard Chartered 42 with the wife

Dream come true

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Singapore Conquered! Running in Sacramento CA

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. run unltd.  |  September 21, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Good luck at the qcim. You ran almost anywhere on the planet, sisiw na sa ‘yo ang commonwealth avenue. See you there. Good to have you back.

    Reply
    • 2. sundaywarrior  |  September 22, 2009 at 1:46 am

      Hi Vener, this post was drafted last January but work always comes in the way that’s why ang tagal napost…

      Reply
    • 3. sundaywarrior  |  September 22, 2009 at 1:49 am

      Hi Vener, this post was drafted last January pa and was updated last Sunday only while working that’s why medyo halohalo na yung topic..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



