BDM 102: I Survived!

March 8, 2010 at 11:04 am 26 comments

With searing heat reaching up to 41c, and blisters in my foot (left and right) starting at KM 73 the only thing going in my mind at around Km 92 was to just finish before the 18hr cutoff.  It was scary to say the least, step after excruciating step I kept on asking my running buddy the time and computing in my mind how long it’s gonna take us in the last 10kms.  But I survived with barely 10 minutes before cut-off, I don’t know where I got my strength in the last 2 kms as one Manong told me that finish line is very near so I summoned whatever I had and sprinted all the way to the finish line.  My time: 17hrs 49.59 finishing 99th out of 104.  Not bad considering we started at 140?  More on the race on my next post, took a leave today not so much on the body pains but on my two feet with throbbing blisters. 

Somewhere in KM 90

 

KM 92, the last 10 kms was the hardest

 

Getting my trophy and medal from BR at Km 102 marker

At the finish after 17hrs 49mins

My lone support, photographer, cheerleader, massager, driver, my wife Raquel, I love you for believing that I can finish..

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This is it! BDM Nature Valley Run 2010

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. run unltd.  |  March 8, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Congrats Chito for finishing the race strong and to Racquel for being there with you. We were just a few who brought our principal support there. Cheers!

    Reply
    • 2. sundaywarrior  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      Thanks Vener congratulations to you too and Christy for sticking out from midnight to the finish.

      Reply
  • 3. thesolemates  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Congrats Chito!!! You are truly a Sunday warrior.

    Reply
    • 4. sundaywarrior  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks Jun, we didn’t see you anymore after the start ang bilis ni Jay!

      Reply
  • 5. argonautquest  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Sir congratulations! It was really hot at that time and really terrible indeed… Oh btw, I think your wife checked if on us too if I need anything… Thank you!!!

    Reply
    • 6. sundaywarrior  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      Hi Argo congrats to you too, the heat was terrible that we were stopping to pour water every 500 meters starting at KM 85 See you at the races..

      Reply
  • 7. prometheuscometh  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Congrats man! You did it!

    Reply
    • 8. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 5:05 am

      Jay you rock man! Congrats ang lakas…

      Reply
  • 9. DATC  |  March 9, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Congratulations! Saturday to sunday warrior ka na!

    Reply
    • 10. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 5:05 am

      Ei Dindo thanks! Have not seen you na after km 3 ang bilis ni Jay ha ha..

      Reply
  • 11. Tin  |  March 9, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Congrats Chito! My Hats off….

    Reply
    • 12. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 5:04 am

      Tin thanks for the support hope to see you in next year’s edition?

      Reply
  • 13. runnerforchrist  |  March 9, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Congrats Chito. You’re truly a great warrior. Rest well and recover. See you this coming Thursday.

    Reply
    • 14. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 5:03 am

      Hi Ronnie thanks and congrats for your strong finish. See yah!

      Reply
  • 15. isko  |  March 9, 2010 at 3:36 am

    Congrats ULTRA CHITO!… see you again BDM 102 part 3 hehehe

    rest and recover well.

    Reply
    • 16. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 5:02 am

      Isko Congrats to you too! Don’t want to think about doing no. 2 muna ha ha..

      Reply
  • 17. topher  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:56 am

    congratulations sir!

    time to rest and recover

    docT here!

    Reply
    • 18. sundaywarrior  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      Ei Doc congrats too and thanks for providing water from your support crew, it was a big help sir!

      Reply
  • 19. Haide  |  March 10, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Congrats Chito!

    I think we were together in many parts of that long and winding road to KM 102.

    Can’t wait to read your account.

    Congratulations to Raquel too! Mahirap ang mag-isa lang na crew/support. =)

    Reply
    • 20. sundaywarrior  |  March 10, 2010 at 9:10 am

      Hi Haide! yes, I think at KM 3, then at 31, 42 (where you had your picture taken by Eugene) and finally at KM 60, hope you’re now okay after that pounding. See you..

      Reply
  • 21. Bro J  |  March 10, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Congrats Chito! wow! you guys are really great! I salute you guys! Congratulations man! ang hirap ng ginawa nyo!

    Reply
    • 22. sundaywarrior  |  March 10, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Hi Bro J yes, I remember telling my running buddy at km 80 that he will have to pay me next year for me to run ultra again he he..

      Reply
  • 23. jetpaiso  |  March 18, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    congratulations sir!

    Reply
    • 24. sundaywarrior  |  March 19, 2010 at 1:39 am

      Thanks Jet see you at the races!

      Reply
  • 25. Graciano S. Santos "Totoy"  |  April 3, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Congratulations ultraman!

    Reply
    • 26. sundaywarrior  |  April 5, 2010 at 7:44 am

      Hi Totoy congrats to you too ang lakas!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



